Let’s stitch the boreal forest to the rest of Alaska

Kluane Lake outside of Destruction Bay, YT. Oct. 11, 2012.

Eight days ago, I packed up my cabin, bid adieu to my outhouse, shrugged off whispers of snow, jumped in my car and drove. Six-hundred-forty miles and a ferry ride later, I now live in Juneau and intern for KTOO News.

I miss working for the Forest Soils Lab. I miss sloughing my petrifying fear of wasps to trek into the woods every day. I miss the rise and fall of the river with the seasons. I’m not going to miss this blog, because I’m not leaving it behind like my lovely cabin.

I want to get to know this new place, too, so Boreal Bites is expanding. Let’s smoosh the temperate rainforest into the boreal forest. Heck, let’s throw in the tundra, and the Aleutians and all of Alaska. I’m in a new stage of life, and it’s time for the blog to grow, too. This will henceforth be a blog about Alaska science, science in Alaska culture, and everyday curiosities in the Far North.

Where should we go first?

My trusty steed in front of  Sheep Mountain outside Destruction Bay, Yt. Oct. 11, 2012.

What do you think?

